About WTEA

The original constitution of the Wisconsin Industrial Arts Association was passed at an organizational meeting in 1927.  The meeting chairman was O. C. Schenke, he served as the officer of the association until elections were held in the following year when C. W. Byrnes was elected president.  Mr. Byrnes served as president for two years.  The WIAA was affiliated with the Wisconsin Teacher’s Association.

The WIAA officially changed its name when the articles of incorporation for the Wisconsin Industrial Education Association, Inc. were approved by the State of Wisconsin on Sept. 4, 1970.  Herb Anderson (Stout State University) served as the first president of the WIEA.

On October 26, 1983 the membership of the WIEA passed a constitutional amendment changing the organization’s name to the Wisconsin Technology Education Association, Inc.

The membership of the WTEA is open to all stakeholders interested in supporting our mission. Current membership includes Technology and Engineering Educators, other education professionals,  school administrators, college students preparing to enter the teaching profession, and business and industry representatives.

Our Mission

The WTEA provides professional development for classroom instructors and proactive leadership in advocating the advancement of technology education by promoting relevant curriculum, communicating information, and networking with leaders in education, business, and industry.  

The WTEA Foundation

In 2008 the WTEA Board of Directors began work on creating a separate public charity to fund scholarships and STEM education activities.  The State of Wisconsin approved the articles of incorporation for the WTEA Foundation, Inc. on May 6, 2009.  Al Gomez, Pete McConnell and Joe Ciontea served as the initial officers of the foundation.

P.O. Box 531
Rhinelander, WI 54501-0531
Phone(920) 904-2747